GroowinLauncher: win utility for your USB key

I’ve just released a small utility I’ve made. It ‘s named GroowinLauncher because it is made in Groovy and it creates a small icon in your taskbar to allow you to launch easily your favourite apps. Recently, I switched a lot from computers to computers having to modify a lot of files. I was tired to always have to bring my favourite softwares with me (namely Winmerge, Notepad++ and 7zip) to do my job. Moreover, my USB key is very slowwwwwwww & it was a pain to copy the softs. And, last but not least, I wanted to always have a Java & Groovy dev environment in order to be able to quickly develop small utility or batch process some files.

So I created my own launcher which:

  1. contains my favourite softwares & Java / Groovy environment
  2. is designed to be installed from slowww USB devices
  3. sits in the taskbar to allow to launch the softwares easily
  4. does not pollute the computer (it installs itself in Windows %TEMP% dir and that’s all)
  5. you can add your own app by editing a simple XML file and 7zipping it

Here’s how it looks:

GroowinLauncher a groovy utility

So download this file: GroowinLauncher-1.0.zip and unzip it on your USB key. Then, when you want to install it on the %TEMP% dir of the computer, just double click on InstallToTMP.bat. It will automatically copy, unzip & run the required files, then launch the launcher (!).

If you ever need a Java or Groovy dev environment, just:

  1. run a command shell (start menu -> run -> cmd )
  2. type “cd /D %TEMP%\GroowinLauncher\”
  3. execute the setenv.bat command
  4. that’s it, you can run & use Groovy !

(tested on Windows XP SP2, the Groovy version provided is 1.5.4 & Java is Java6u3)

One thought on “GroowinLauncher: win utility for your USB key

Leave a Reply

